top of page

How to break your shopping addiction


Are you surprised thinking, OH WAIT, WHAT IS SHE TALKING ABOUT? Someone who talks about fashion and is in the fashion space is suggesting how to shop less? I am quite surprised that I am even writing this, never have I imagined that someday I would sit down and write about ‘How to break shopping addiction’. But now I am in a stage where I don't shop as often as I used to. For me this journey was a long time taking process. And i often questioned myself : is this decision of shopping less right for my profession? Hell yes, now i can comfortably say, LESS IS MORE. I believe in quality over quantity.


I hope my journey would inspire you too, to break shopping addiction.

Here are some tips on how to control your shopping habits.

 

1. Unsubscribe from emails and text alerts

The moment you receive a ‘Sale’ notification or ‘New Launch’ text message from a particular favorite brand, you tend to browse their website. Brands know that communicating about sales will make their consumers spend money. I am sure we all are quite familiar with ‘ Hurry up, its last sale’, ‘Buy before they are gone’, ‘We have missed you’, ‘We are waiting for you’ and ‘You have items left in your cart’ emails. These emails act as triggers to make purchases. So when you unsubscribe, emails and texts get out of your sight and after sometime out of your head too.

 

2. Create a wishlist

Instead of impulse purchasing and trying to purchase something immediately, make a wish list. Find inspiration and research what suits your personal style and create a list of items that add value to your existing wardrobe. I say invest in classics, they never go out of style.

(To know how to find your personal style, check my blog post about the same)

 

3. Wait to purchase

Don't spend on reflex. When you look at an item that is pretty, it's natural to gravitate and buy it. But do not buy it at that moment, give yourself a week or two and if you still gravitate to buy, go buy it. Trust me, this really saves a ton of money. Recently, I am a lot obsessed with home decor, the other day i wanted to buy fall decor, but i stepped back. After coming home, I thought, Okay, should I really buy it? Fall just lasts for a couple of months. After that, should I again invest in Christmas decor? Not worth it, I felt. This saved me over whooping $400 in one go.

 

4. Ask yourself: I have learnt to question myself before buying things. These are the set of question that definitely will help you too


Why should i buy this: Is this a needful item or is it just something that i want (there's a difference between need and want)

  • Can I get this for cheaper elsewhere: The same item with similar quality if can be bought at a cheaper price, I suggest it's worth the wait. You don't have to be brand fatigue. Research all the best brands, compare and then make a purchase. Sometimes, you see that several items o different brands are manufactured at a same factory. But the cost varies hugely. So research is the key go that makes you happy with purchases, and the wallet thanks you.

  • Will I use this often? I love cooking and more importantly plating a dish really matters a lot to me. So i like collecting/buying good looking plates, bowls or any food serving items. But the moment I ask myself this question, I just don't buy it. I use what I have.

  • Is there something that I would rather spend money on: It's a very powerful question and the moment I think about it, the larger picture or the larger goal comes to my head and I stop purchasing. For instance, I love silk fabric, anything that comes in silk , I love it. But creating a wishlist and questioning myself helps me to stay away from unnecessary purchases.

 

5. Use cash to make payment

I know, I know, it's very tough. If you are a reflex spender and you want to break that habit, use cash to pay the bills rather than using your card. You surely will see the difference.



5,029 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page